While Christians continue to pledge alliance to Nigerian as a country, Muslims have started pledging alliance to Islam alone. Below is the pledge reportedly recited as Muslims in Nigeria:

Church leaders have said severally that Christians should join in the politics of the country.  The object of this memo is for non-Islamist and Islamist Nigerians to consider what to look for in the politics of the country in 2018 and beyond.  These include:

  1. Must Nigeria continue to have two ideologies, one Constitutional and the other stealthy? 
  2. Must Nigeria continue to have two centers of influence one in Abuja and the other in Sokoto?  
  3. Is it not time to place the need for a Truth and Reconciliation Commission and Restructuring the country on the front burner?
  4. Is it not time to have a people driven Constitution through a Constituent Assembly and Referendum?



From the above analysis and questions, it is clear that we need, as a country, political parties that would make public declaration for the implementation of provisions of the Constitution as contained in Chapter II of the Constitution, deciding in each budget which particular aspect of the directives should be emphasized for the particular year.  These would be political parties that would use constitutional means only to promote Democracy not Islamism. As at today however, what Nigeria needs is one ideology, one centre of authority and until this is achieved, the items in Chapter II of the Constitution are merely palliatives.


What do you think?

Solomon Asemota SAN

Chairman, NCEF

17th January, 2017     


Please send comments to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Solomon Asemota, SAN (Chairman), Gen. Joshua Dogonyaro (rtd), Archbishop Magnus Atilade, Dr. (Mrs) Kate Okpareke, Dr. Ayo Abifarin, Gen. Zamani Lekwot (rtd), Bishop Joseph Bagobiri, Elder Moses Ihonde, Elder Nat Okoro, Gen. T. Y. Danjuma, Elder Matthew Owojaiye, Justice Kalajine Anigbogu (rtd), Elder Shyngle Wigwe, DIG P. L. Dabup, Sir John W. Bagu, Dr. Saleh Hussaini, Elder Mike Orobator, Justice James Ogebe, JSC (rtd), Dr. Chukwuemeka Ezeife, Chief Debo Omotosho, Dame Priscilla Kuye, Dr. S. D. Gani, Mrs. Osaretin Demuren, Prof. Yussuf Turaki, Dr. Musa Asake, Pastor Bosun Emmanuel (Secretary)